The Versatile Blogger Award!

Standard

Each day, I learn something more appealing about the collaborative spirit of the blogosphere. Two days ago, this cooperative trait became even more apparent when I was given the Versatile Blogger Award by a new blogging neighbor, Kate, at Believe Anyway. What fun! Thank you so much for the compliment on my photography! Kate describes herself as perennial optimist, so if you need a little hope in your life, please meander over to her blog.

Since receiving the award, I was motivated to find out more about its origin. When I Googled it, all that popped up were the blogs of other recipients. There wasn’t any information on how this award system all begin. So it’s apparent to me that Versatile Blogger Award was started, and is now maintained, by bloggers who want to support each other. I’m all for that, so here are the rules of how you are expected to pass the award down:

  1. Thank the blogger who gave the award and link to their blog. (See above comment. Thank you Kate!)
  2.  Share seven things about yourself that people may not know.
  3. Give this award to up to 15 bloggers (and link to them).
  4. Comment on their blogs to tell them of the award.

Here goes!

7 Things about Me

  1. I commute one hour to and from work each day because I live in the Korean countryside, and I teach in the city (pop. 3 million). I love driving, despite the notorious reputation of Korean drivers, because this is the only time I get to listen to my favorite podcast, Q with Jian Gomeshi.
  2. I came to Korea in 2005 to teach English and to travel. Now I’m a teacher educator, and instead of traveling, I’ve created a home here. Check out my teaching blog, Throwing Back Tokens, which is a collection of reflections on teaching practices, or the state of education in general.
  3. I met my husband at this temple, three months after I arrived in Korea, and I have no doubt that in-yeon 인연 connected us once again. My friend at Somewhere in Dhamma translates this as “karmic affinity”.
  4. In a past life, I was a fire spinner. I used to teach the art, and once performed at the Harvest Jazz & Blues Festival in Fredericton, New Brunswick. I’ve since retired the fire, and now play with LED instead.
  5. At the end of the day I find nothing more relaxing than wiping my face with a warm face cloth. Ahhhh!
  6. I hope to go to film school someday to learn how to shoot and edit film. Click on my video category tag to see videos I may add to my portfolio some day.
  7. Before I moved to Korea, I was a perennial pessimist. Notice that I’ve changed?

My Award Nominees

  • To my synchronistic friend Hailey, at Thanks for the Blues, for having posted 70+ blog posts in less than 2 months! But most importantly for writing about what she is grateful for, and for sharing this gratitude with the whole world. Oh, and also for her fun & funny (yes these are two different adjectives :P ) writing style.
  • To my partner in Korean adventures, Joseph, at Somewhere in Dhamma. His musings and reflections about Buddhism — and how the teachings relate to his family, his life, his photography, and the music he loves — are a great source of inspiration and joy for me.
  • To my Acadian/Cajun cousin, NicoChic for her hilarious prose that weaves in stories of parenting and fashion.
  • To Rick at A 19 Planets Art Blog for his wondrous haikus, which always accompany equally captivating visual art. He can do amazing things with the Zen Brush iPad app.
  • To Aaron Leamon who just clicked “like” on my previous post. I just took a quick browse through his blog, and I’m totally digging his layout, photography and short films. I just subscribed to his blog and look forward to the gems that come forth in my mailbox.
  • To Pseu’s Blog for her amazing close-up photography and haiku poetry.
  • To FrizzText for his musical, alphabetical, visually stimulating posts at Flickr Comments.
  • To Sarah at Sarahverse for her kind comments and her willingness to share her self-exploration.

Spread the love!

30 responses »

  1. Pingback: Versatile Blogger’s Award « ♡ The Tale Of My Heart ♡

  2. aloha Josette – just to let you know i have not forgotten about your generous and thoughtful award gift. I thought I should let you know I’m simply way behind where I think I should be… I’d like to be… which is okay, it’s just that… yeah, I’m behind. in everything.

    I do intend to get to your award.

    I have finally put up a note about my delayed activities in regard to WP – on my Aways Page – which may run for another week or so… hopefully I’ll then get back into a good pattern of activity here. and there. and a few dozen other places too – bwahahaha. well, I can try…

    sheesh. life. fun that way tho. sometimes. aloha.

    • No worries Rick! I totally understand. I finally posted for the first time in 10 days. I’m simply impressed by the amount of artistic posts you are able to produce! When do you get the time to create your pieces? Do you have a backlog?

      Thank you for keeping the award gift in mind and for your consideration. You really didn’t need to explain, but in so doing, you made me smile :) All the best!

      • aloha Josette, …smiles are worth while. yeah, I have post breaks like that too. and, yeah I’m not really worried. as you noted, what I really try hard to get to is creating… among other things.

        most of the work I’ve been posting over the last couple of months was posted on the day I created it – or within 24 hours or so of creating it. I often have a number of works in progress, both a long term and short term process. these posted works over the last couple of months are mostly short term in creation although some come together over a few days.

        these digital things are way fun for me. I need some kind of creating going on in my life every day. I’ve learned that this is important for me in my sense of well being. I have lists of things I want to get to in my head, sometimes life has other plans for me tho… so I try to allow that too. the house repair and painting just needed to be done. it’s nearing a completion point – at least for this stage – for a while …so may be.. bwahahaha. there is a little more yet to do on this cycle but it’ll have to wait for a few weeks yet.

        yeah I know I don’t have to explain… explaining helps me tho. I know where I am in my process this way – it just comes out by explaining to some one else. that helps me to understand in my head. …the way I see it… communication is usually a good thing too. ha, okay, sometimes I just ramble…

        fun. fun on. and cool on posting when ever we do. aloha.
        .

  3. Pingback: My Turn to say, “The Versatile Blogger Award Goes To …” | Stories of My Wandering Feet & Mind

  4. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award « bardicblogger

  5. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award « ♡ The Tale Of My Heart ♡

  6. Pingback: I Recieved The Versatile Blogger Award From What About God? « para-DOX parABLEs

  7. Pingback: Smokebear receives a “Versatile Blogger Award” « Smokebear

  8. Your journey is amazing. You remind me of me. We both left our countries, go where our fate led us, we’re blessed with a partner that shared our path, you were called to teach and educate the minds, I was called to be an instrument of physical healing. I work as an E.R. Nurse now, I hope to go back in my country soon to practice my M.D. Rusty skills. But nothing can be more fulfilling than helping the sick and understand. I knew it then, and it’s even more clear now. God has a purpose for all of us, perhaps this is mine. Stay bless. Best wishes to your family.

  9. wow. aloha Josette – i think i’m beginning to understand the idea. …altho… i may be reluctant – or at least slow at following rules… yeah, i know myself too well and i know… i break rules without a half second thought. or without even turning around. or… by… just trying to follow them. sheesh. …or just because i didnt even know it was a rule to begin with… or… because… because… that’s why we have rules, right? so we can break them? ha. fun. okay. i’ll have to see what i can do… thank you for your thoughtful words about my blog as well as the Versatile Blogger Award itself. aloha.

    • No worries Rick. When I sent it to you, I had the phrase “breaking rules” in my head. I envisioned a kind of haiku or art piece with the play on words. I look forward to seeing what you com up with :)

  10. Congratulations. You have a thoughtful, generous, inspiring and warm blog site that everyone will find amazing. Your thoughts, images, reflections are honest , sincere and meaningful. Today we celebrate you. I will check your nominees. I’m excited of what I’m going to discover. Stay blessed.

    • Thank you so much for those touching words. You really know how to bring light into others’ worlds. I’d also like for you to know that I wanted to choose you for the award, but I saw that already had picked you. I didn’t want to create too much a loop. I am blessed to have you as one of my readers. Much joy and peace to you and your family.

  11. Pingback: Virgin’ on the Ridiculous « Pseu1's Blog

  12. Pingback: Versatile Blogger Award « Flickr Comments by FrizzText

  13. Josette! You were a pessimist? Are you kidding me? I can’t believe it!!! Just wanted to let you know that even though I may not comment on your posts, I am reading them regularly, and getting a lot out of them. Your essence flows through in your writing. I admire your dedication to these sorts of endeavors, and I miss you terribly. I cannot wait to hear your laugh again and see you. Please tell me when you and your husband plan on visiting Istanbul. I will move mountains to make sure I am there exactly the same time as you.

    You are versatile and so much more!

    Love,
    Kulsoom

    • Hahaha! Hard to believe right? I think I was always a dreamer, but I was so wrapped up in worry, that I couldn’t find hope in my dreams. I’m so grateful for my shift. I can’t wait to hear you laugh again either! It’s been too long. Of course I will tell you when we come to Istanbul! You are the top reason I would go there silly!

      Thank you so much for the support re: my blogging. It means a lot to read your comments. I have always placed your writing skills in high regard, so reading your comments really hits home. Love you!

  14. Pingback: The Versatile Blogger Award Goes To… | this man's journey

    • I also would have put Katharine Trauger, but I thought it would create too much looping. Katharine has been a great supporter of my teaching blog. Hahaha..as for the 5, I just did research and also saw 15 as a possibility. It looked like versatile rules so I thought, what the heck! Thank you Kate!

Leave a Reply

