Cicadas, Astrology, K-Horror, & Friar Tuck (August 11, 2009)

The Secret Life of Cicadas
Cicada Shell

1. The Secret Life of Cicadas – They live underground for about 5 years (in Korea). They emerge and quickly find a space to shed their hard shell. With their newly found wings the sing their song for 7 days until they die. I noticed a whole bunch of these shells under cherry leaves from the tree in my front yard.  At first I thought that’s how they died. Poetic to think this is how they live their remaining days – fully free.

2. A Meal for Friar Tuck – Last week I watched a middle aged Korean lady eat a full fish, head and all.  Images of Rocket Robin hood’s Friar Tuck kept popping into my mind.  In the video note the way he devours the chicken leg. A powerful image I retained from my youth.

Virgo
Virgo

3. Future A-ha! Moments – Need a little predictability in your life? Check out this online Zen tarot card spread. Choose a card to guide you for the day, or go deeper with a full spread.  Oh! so Osho. If you need a wider perspective get refreshing weekly horoscopes that enlighten your Free Will.

High School Horror
High School Horror

4. Horror Movies Relieve the Heat –  Forget Halloween, summer is when the haunted houses go up in Korea. Many people here believe that being scared silly is a cooling activity. Is it the goosebumps that give this perception of being cooled off?  Check out title of this article, then check out the creepy movie pics to get an idea of how movies are helping us cool down this summer.  There’s even a horror TV show that’s recently aired, set in the creepiest of Korean settings – an all girl high school. BOO!

11 thoughts on “Cicadas, Astrology, K-Horror, & Friar Tuck (August 11, 2009)

  1. Hi, Josette, good to see others are interested in cicadas, too. I think the ones in Daegu are particularly loud. The two summers I was there it was a real wake-up call — I’d be walking to school, often lost in thought, but then, at a certain point I’d go “what the heck IS that?” And realize. Do you think they have to be louder in the big city to be heard above the traffic? Here in Andong we can hardly hear them, but then there aren’t the number of big trees in my neighborhood here, either. They are fascinating!

    I’ve always enjoyed details myself, thanks for this enjoyable blog!

    xoxo
    Angel

    1. Thanks for reading Angela! I never thought about the cicada song trying to be louder than traffic. Makes sense. XOXO

  2. Hi, Josette! I enjoyed reading your blog especially about the cicadas. Their song signals the start of the hot summer season and their silence signals the start of fall in Japan. BTW, there are 30 species of cicadas in Japan.

    Also, I went to the Tarot Card Reading and had several ‘aha’ moments. Thanks for posting the sites.

    Namaste,
    Ann

    1. 30 species! That explains all the different songs I hear. I’m not sure how many species are in Korea.

      I really appreciate your feedback on my blog. It makes me feel even more connected to my global network.

      Namaste :)

  3. Ohayo, Josette!
    Cicadas are a summer melody. Their song is a symbol of the hot summer season in Japan. As soon as their song is heard, summer is here. Towards late September or early October, their song becomes quiet until the next summer.

  4. I love cicadas! I went to a “bug exhibit” at a museum recently and I totally fell in love with crickets, grasshoppers and cicadas! Did you know that the cicadas call is one of the loudest in the world, with volumes that can reach the equivalent of putting your ear up to a blender (in decibels)? Amazing stuff! I think their life cycle is pretty special, too — staying dormant for so long and then singing for a mate before dying. So poetic! I’m so glad you’re doing this! It’s great to read, and it has me thinking of what I’m seeing and noticing, too!

    1. I didn’t know that about their song. Tres cool. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed my first blog entry. I’m really having fun doing it. Let me know about anything you notice and I’ll add it on here. It’s amazing what I learn when I start paying attention to what’s around me.

    1. Thank you for your warm reply Elizabeth. Hearing that is a great way to wake up in the morning. I appreciate our fully free conversations also. I’ll check out the video very soon. My internet connection at home is “megabyte impaired” for downloading. I didn’t know that about cicadas! THey just continue the amaze me. Their life is ripe with metaphors.

    1. I’m happy to hear that Sherry I love that sight…hehe..oops…site (but it works doesn’t it?) It always sets a comforting mood for me.

Leave a Reply

