Idiosyncrasies of the Body: Movement, Body & Focus

Movement

Do you take your body for granted?To our house

It’s so easy, and sometimes annoying, to get lost in thought. Although daydreaming is a great tool for manifesting your vision, it is also the keeper of procrastination. These days anytime I feel restless, and thoughts start spinning in a vicious cycle, I make the conscious decision to come back to my body. I stand up and move.  The easiest, fastest and most relaxing activities that fit into my schedule when I feel the need to decongest my mind are the 20 minute yoga podcasts (videos) that I download from yogamazing.com.  Sometimes a little meander down the road in the fresh air helps keep me focused and my thoughts in check. These days what really keeps my in line are my belly dancing classes. Both hilarious and exhilarating.

When I was younger it was all about my body.  Act, then think. To some extent I still follow this mantra, but afterthoughts get more obsessive the older you get.  Mame used to tease me, “As-tu des vers? Do you have worms? J’ai tu besoin de t’acheter d’la medicine au ver? Do I need to get some worm medicine?”, because I was so wiggly.  I just had to move!  I was constantly outside playing some sport. At elementary school I strived on P.E. classes, and sports days. Perhaps if my mother had watched this video she could have found ease in my squirmy nature.

As Sir Ken Robinson states, creativity, especially from the body, might just be the key that unlocks the passion embedded deep inside. Luckily my parents supported my squirmy nature all throughout my volleyball, fire-spinning,and hapkido adventures, and now my passion has released itself onto the world.

Fire-spinning was a meditative release for me. There’s something about fire twirling around your body the helps keep you focused. Below is my favorite fire-spinning video. The artist, Nick Woolsey, has taught some of my friends. You can learn a lot about poi and fire-spinning at his website. 

The circular nature of hapkido had the same centering effect. For me, movement is the only real meditation.

Master Kang and Me

Body

For many of us, the thoughts that keep spinning around like a ring of fire in our minds revolve around our obsessions with how our bodies are perceived. Living in Korea can really bring this to light. Fashion and beauty seems to have a stronger priority here than in Canada. You can easily see Korean women in high heels — or flats at best — at the mountain, where a Canadian would logically have on a pair of hiking boots or at least sneakers. All this in the name of fashion and maintaining the illusion of sexy legs.

To get beyond your cultural/personal body hang-ups, check out The Body Shape Bible for helpful, painless and affordable fashion tips. Don’t fight what you’ve got. Go with your body’s flow.

Focus

Most of us take our mobility and bodies for granted.  I know I have and sometimes need to remind myself not to. Observing the life of my cousin has taught me to relish every step I take. As you’ll see from the news article, the only body parts he can move are above his neck, but this doesn’t keep him from sailing a boat. How’s that for movement and focus?!

2 thoughts on “Idiosyncrasies of the Body: Movement, Body & Focus

Leave a Reply

