What Death Taught Me Today: R.I.P. 앵두

Last night my husband and I stroked our dog 앵두’s malamute coat as she took her last breath. I learned a few lessons from her dignified last moments of life:

1. Life is precious; be grateful for each moment. Good or bad, these are the moments that create the magic of life. And there is no doubt; life is magical.

2. Death, as life, is embedded in peace.

3. Be patient. There is no need to rush. Slowing down increases our receptivity to love, and helps you see more beauty.

I feel great sympathy and empathy for my husband. He took care of her everyday for the last 8 years. He showed her so much love, consideration and understanding. They were kindred spirits.

17 thoughts on “What Death Taught Me Today: R.I.P. 앵두

  1. What a heart rending and powerfully evocative photo of Byongchan bearing his beloved friend on his back. It brought tears but also a deeply reverent sense of the transcendent nature of friendship which, because it is predicated on Love, never dies. Chloe was my 25-year-old cat friend who passed away back in June. My regard for her could not be greater if she were a person. My wish for you and Byongchan is that the spirit and example of 앵두’s life will provide inspiration for you as you continue to explore the deeper meaning of your own precious lives. Much Love to you both!! Blessings Be!

    1. Thank you so much for your personal response Trudy. I connected to what you wrote here, “deeply reverent sense of the transcendent nature of friendship which, because it is predicated on Love, never dies.” It is true. If there is anything I learned it’s that in death, as in life if we really take the time to appreciate it, love is the only thing that remains. It never dies. Thank you for taking the time to support us. Much love to you!

  2. Thanks so much for sharing this, Josette – having such a profound relationship with animals myself, it always hits my hard and deep to hear of the loss of a pet. Yet it also confirms the love and intimacy we are capable of experiencing with animals, how much they teach us and bless us, and how much JOY there is in having them with us forever in our memories!

    1. Thank you for reading Chaz. I thought of you at certain points during the grieving process. I know you lost your beloved cat (Chloe?) last (this?) year. Pets truly remind us of how previous a moment is. Peace and love.

  3. am so sorry to hear about the loss of your dog.
    it is true – our beloved pets teach us more more than we might realize. we may think it is good of us to open our homes to adopt a pet, and yet in so many ways we are the beneficiaries of their companionship and all their little quirks and ways…. which make life so much more wonderful for us.  
    thanks for sharing this post.

  4. Thank you so much for that link Hails. You know, it is with a little guilt that I admit that I wasn’t really “there” with Aengdoo when she was alive. It seems that my “responsibilities” took precedence over just “being” with her, our other dog Samsoon and Byongchan. But this guilt doesn’t come without a lesson. Something has shifted, and it started shifting a while ago. I vow to slow down and watch my loved ones breath and be.

    1. Thank you so much for that link Hails. You know, it is with a little guilt that I admit that I wasn’t really “there” with Aengdoo when she was alive. It seems that my “responsibilities” took precedence over just “being” with her, our other dog Samsoon and Byongchan. But this guilt doesn’t come without a lesson. Something has shifted, and it started shifting a while ago. I vow to slow down and watch my loved ones breath and be.

Leave a Reply

