Weekly photo challenge: abandoned

As we were walking away from the Blue Mansion (scroll down for pictures) on the streets of Georgetown in Penang, Malaysia, my mother signalled me to look down.

Look. A shoe for your collection.

I looked down with that excitement I get when I see an abandoned shoe. There’s something about them seems to make the world a smaller place. To find out more about what I mean, check out my Random Shoes page.

I looked back at her.

Every time I see a shoe on the road or beach, I think of you.

She smiled and kept walking.

At that moment, I couldn’t tell mame how much I was touched by this small gesture. Hopefully now she knows.

Thank you for this, mame. Every time I see an abandoned shoe now I will think of you too.

20140307-150148.jpg

This was an entry for the WordPress Weekly Photo Photo Challenge: Abandoned. Join in!

Leave a comment